UK 2009-2010 repeat station report

Main Article Content

Thomas J.G. Shanahan
Anthony P. Swan
Susan Macmillan


The British Geological Survey is responsible for conducting the UK geomagnetic repeat station programme. Measurements made at the UK repeat station sites are used in conjunction with the three UK magnetic observatories: Hartland, Eskdalemuir and Lerwick, to produce a regional model of the local field each year. The UK network of repeat stations comprises 41 stations which are occupied at approximately 3-4 year intervals. Practices for conducting repeat station measurements continue to evolve as advances are made in survey instrumentation and as the usage of the data continues to change. Here, a summary of the 2009 and 2010 UK repeat station surveys is presented, highlighting the measurement process and techniques, density of network, reduction process and recent results.

Article Details

How to Cite
Shanahan, T. J., Swan, A. P. and Macmillan, S. (2013) “UK 2009-2010 repeat station report”, Annals of Geophysics, 55(6). doi: 10.4401/ag-5439.

Most read articles by the same author(s)